There are various reasons why a person may want to close a Gmail account. Your account may have been hacked into several times hence you need to change it or you need a simpler username or address. If you have no idea how to delete a Gmail account, follow the easy steps below:
The first step is to get into a Google browser. Google.com is usually the simplest to operate from. You should then go to the sign in option which requires you to access the account. Once you have accesses your account you can now start the process.
On the top right of the page you there is a settings tab. Select and open that tab and go down the menu, to Google Account Settings. This option is available for any Google service or accounts you are using or have logging into.
Clicking on this will take you to a page where you find your Profile, Personal Settings and the Google Products that are available in your account. On the products section you will find the products that you can change for your Google account. Open the Edit link which takes you to the edit page.
This is the page where you can now delete your account. Here you will find links to products that you can permanently delete from your account. By selecting Remove Gmail Permanently link, you will end up in a page that now allows you to finalize the deletion of the account. You will also be required to read a message from Google about deleting the Gmail account.
Mark the box that indicates Gmail. This removes the email option and leaves out the other products you may still want to use with Google. However you may have to insert a new email address. You can use your current password to finalize the removal by clicking on the Remove Gmail button.
However you can still create another email account using your Gmail account. Emails that come during the period you have removed your account will not be accessible.